Two real models, six near-identical listings, and no model number in any of the titles. Here is which is which.
By Scooter M. · Published September 19, 2026 · Last reviewed September 19, 2026
How this page is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through the links here, at no extra cost to you. Picks are chosen before links are attached, which is why every roundup names something to skip. Full disclosure.
Pelonis sells two meaningfully different oil-filled radiators: the mechanical PHO15A2AGW, with two knobs, and the digital PSHO07JR4AGB, with a remote, a 24-hour timer, a 41–95°F thermostat and a child lock. Both run at 600, 900 or 1,500 W. Neither listing title names its model.
The reason this page exists
Search for a Pelonis oil-filled radiator and you get six listings that look almost the same. They are titled with feature strings rather than model numbers — *"Radiator Heater for Large Space, Electric Oil Filled Radiator, Dual Knobs, 1500W"* — and two of them carry word-for-word identical titles while costing different amounts.
That is a genuinely difficult shelf to buy from, and it is not the buyer's fault. So before writing anything we resolved each listing to a model number from the listing's own model field, then went to Pelonis's product page for that model. Two models came back clean. The rest could not be resolved, and they are named at the bottom of this page rather than quietly folded in.
The two models, side by side
PHO15A2AGW (mechanical)
PSHO07JR4AGB (digital)
Heat settings
600 / 900 / 1,500 W
600 / 900 / 1,500 W
Thermostat
Mechanical knob, unmarked
41–95°F in 1°F increments
Controls
Two knobs
Touch panel plus remote
Modes
Three heat settings
ECO, Sleep and Memory
Timer
None
24 hours
Child lock
None
Yes
Tip-over protection
Yes
Yes
Overheat protection
Yes
Yes, auto shut-off
Housing
Not stated
V0 flame-retardant
Portability
4 caster wheels, carry handle
Not stated
Maker's coverage claim
None published
255 sq ft
Our computed coverage
150 sq ft at 10 W/sq ft
150 sq ft at 10 W/sq ft
Safety listing (UL/ETL)
Not stated
Not stated
Warranty
1 year
Not stated
Published by Pelonis for each model number. "Not stated" means we looked on Pelonis's page for that model and it was not there.
The important row is the first one: they produce identical heat. Both top out at 1,500 W, which is the ceiling for any U.S. plug-in heater, so both deliver 5,118 BTU/h and both cost the same per hour at the same setting. Everything you are choosing between on this page is control, safety features and convenience — not warmth.
Both publish all three wattages, which is rarer than it should be
Most radiators in this price bracket advertise "3 heat settings" and leave it there, which means the only cost you can compute is the maximum. Pelonis publishes 600 W, 900 W and 1,500 W for both of these models, so every setting can be costed honestly.
Wattage
Per hour
1 h
8 h
600 W
11.0¢
$0.11
$0.88
900 W
16.5¢
$0.17
$1.32
1,500 W
27.5¢
$0.28
$2.20
Computed at 18.34¢/kWh — the U.S. residential average for June 2026 (EIA, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A, released August 26, 2026). Your rate is on your own bill; substitute it and the arithmetic still holds. Figures assume full output for the whole period.
At the rate below that is 11.0 cents an hour at 600 W against 27.5 cents at full output — and 5.0 A against 12.5 A, which matters as much as the money. A radiator idling at 600 W sits well inside a 15 A circuit's 12 A continuous allowance; the same radiator at 1,500 W is over that allowance on its own. The full circuit arithmetic.
Heater
Draw at 120 V
15 A circuit (12 A limit)
20 A circuit (16 A limit)
600 W
5.0 A
Fits
Fits
900 W
7.5 A
Fits
Fits
1,500 W
12.5 A
Over the limit
Fits
Maximum continuous
—
12 A = 1,440 W
16 A = 1,920 W
Draw computed as watts / 120 V. The continuous limit is 80% of the breaker rating, which follows from the NEC's requirement to size a circuit at 125% of a continuous load (NFPA 70, 210.19(A)(1) and 210.20(A)).
This is the most recent month EIA has published. Residential rates move seasonally and vary enormously by state — from roughly a dime per kilowatt-hour in parts of the South to more than 40¢ in Hawaii — so treat it as a national reference point, not as your rate.
Three Pelonis claims, checked
1. "Warms spaces up to 255 sq ft"
Pelonis publishes 255 square feet for the PSHO07JR4AGB. Our sizing rule — 10 watts per square foot, average insulation, 8-foot ceiling — puts 1,500 W at 150 square feet. Pelonis's figure is about 1.7 times ours.
Neither number is a lie; they are different assumptions. A 255 sq ft claim implies roughly 5.9 W per square foot, which is achievable in a well-insulated, modern, draft-free room being topped up rather than heated from cold. Our 10 W/sq ft is the standard working figure for an average room. Use the wattage, not the claim — and if the room is drafty, multiply the watts you need by 1.25, or by 1.5 if it is unheated. Where the 10 W/sq ft rule comes from.
Room size
Watts needed
BTU/h
Plug-in heaters
100 sq ft
1,000 W
3,412
1
150 sq ft
1,500 W
5,118
1
200 sq ft
2,000 W
6,824
2 (different circuits)
255 sq ft
2,550 W
8,701
2 (different circuits)
Computed as square feet x 10 W x insulation factor x (ceiling / 8 ft), for an average heated room — 10 W/sq ft, 8 ft ceiling. Heater count assumes the 1,500 W plug-in ceiling.
2. "ECO mode saves up to 40% energy"
ECO modes are real and they do reduce consumption, but not by being more efficient. Every electric resistance heater converts essentially all the electricity it draws into heat; there is no such thing as an efficient setting. What an ECO mode does is modulate the wattage as the room approaches temperature, so the heater spends more of its time at 600 W and less at 1,500 W.
So the saving is real, it comes from running at lower wattage for more of the time, and "up to 40%" is the best case rather than a figure you should budget around. Your actual saving depends on the room, the target temperature and how long you run it. Why nothing about a heater's design makes it cheaper to run.
3. "Less than 5 dB"
The underlying point is true and it is the reason to buy this type at all: an oil-filled radiator has no fan and no moving parts, so it makes no operating noise. It is the quietest kind of electric heater there is.
Treat the number itself as shorthand rather than a measurement, though. A quiet bedroom at night sits around 30 dB of ambient noise, so a sub-5 dB figure is well below what could be measured in any real room. Read it as "you will not hear it", which is accurate. If silence is the whole requirement, the quietest heaters covers the fanless types generally.
Which one to buy
If your priority is…
Buy
The lowest price for silent radiator heat
PHO15A2AGW — and compare both of its listings
Setting an actual temperature
PSHO07JR4AGB — 41–95°F to the degree
A child who can reach the controls
PSHO07JR4AGB — it is the one with a child lock
Overnight use on a schedule
PSHO07JR4AGB — 24-hour timer
A published warranty
PHO15A2AGW — 1 year; Pelonis states none for the digital model
Moving it between rooms
PHO15A2AGW — casters and a carry handle are published
Lower running cost
Neither. They are identical at identical settings.
The decision, reduced.
The honest summary is that the digital model is the better heater for a bedroom or a nursery and the mechanical one is the better buy for a spare room, and the gap between them is smaller than the feature lists suggest — because the thing they both do, they do identically.
Both models
Quick picks
Ranked for fit, not for hype. Coverage and current draw are computed from each unit’s published wattage. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing.
#
Product
Best for
Covers
Draw
Price
1
Pelonis PSHO07JR4AGBThe digital Pelonis: every one of its three wattages is published, the thermostat sets to the degree, and it is the only oil-filled radiator here with a child lock.
Pelonis PHO15A2AGWOil-filled warmth without the oil-filled price — a mechanical two-knob radiator that does the one thing the type is good at and publishes nothing it does not have.
Top pick · A radiator with a child lock and a real set-point
Pelonis PSHO07JR4AGB Oil-Filled Radiator
The digital Pelonis: every one of its three wattages is published, the thermostat sets to the degree, and it is the only oil-filled radiator here with a child lock.
Rated power
1,500 W / 600 W low
Covers (computed)
150 sq ft
Draw (computed)
12.5 A at 120 V
Cost per hour
27.5¢
Coverage at 10 W/sq ft, average insulation, 8 ft ceiling = 5,118 BTU/h. Cost at 18.34¢/kWh; an eight-hour night at full output is $2.20. Exceeds the 12 A continuous limit of a 15 A circuit — check what else shares the breaker.
What works
All three wattages are published — 600, 900 and 1,500 W — so the cost of every setting can be computed rather than guessed at, which is not true of most radiators at this price
A thermostat that sets to the degree from 41 to 95°F, on a type that usually ships with an unmarked dial
The only oil-filled radiator in our registry with a published child lock, which is what makes a silent heater usable in a room with a toddler
What does not
Pelonis publishes 255 sq ft of coverage; our 10 W/sq ft rule puts 1,500 W at 150 sq ft. The claim is roughly 1.7 times ours and the wattage is the ceiling either way
No UL or ETL mark is named, which is the one thing we would still want stated given everything else it publishes
The “ECO mode saves up to 40%” figure is a best case, not a guarantee — savings come from running fewer hours at full output, not from the mode being more efficient
Published specification
Rated power
600 W / 900 W / 1,500 W at 120 V (all three published)
Thermostat
41–95°F in 1°F increments
Modes
ECO, Sleep and Memory
Timer
24 hours
Controls
Touch panel plus remote
Construction
108 “Volcano” thermal vents
Maker's noise claim
“<5 dB” — fanless; see the note on the comparison page
Safety
Tip-over protection, overheat auto shut-off, child lock, V0 flame-retardant housing
Heat type
Oil-filled
Maker’s coverage claim
255 sq ft
Safety listing
Pelonis publishes a V0 flame-retardant housing, tip-over protection, overheat auto shut-off and a child lock, but does not name a UL or ETL mark. Check the rating plate.
Who it is for
A bedroom, nursery or study where silence is the requirement, someone else in the house should not be able to change the settings, and you want to set an actual temperature and a shut-off time.
What it is not for
Fast heat, or a room much over 150 sq ft on our arithmetic. It is a radiator: it warms slowly and steadily, and that is the design rather than a fault.
Oil-filled warmth without the oil-filled price — a mechanical two-knob radiator that does the one thing the type is good at and publishes nothing it does not have.
Rated power
1,500 W / 600 W low
Covers (computed)
150 sq ft
Draw (computed)
12.5 A at 120 V
Cost per hour
27.5¢
Coverage at 10 W/sq ft, average insulation, 8 ft ceiling = 5,118 BTU/h. Cost at 18.34¢/kWh; an eight-hour night at full output is $2.20. Exceeds the 12 A continuous limit of a 15 A circuit — check what else shares the breaker.
What works
Genuinely silent: there is no fan in an oil-filled radiator, so there is nothing to hear
The cheapest route into the quietest heater type, by a wide margin
Two mechanical knobs means no menu, no display and nothing to go wrong electronically
What does not
The listing names no model number, and Pelonis sells this same PHO15A2AGW under at least two Amazon listings with identical titles at different prices — check both before buying
No published listing mark, no timer, no remote, no child lock and no digital thermostat — the thermostat is an unmarked knob
Oil-filled radiators are slow: they warm a room over half an hour, not in two minutes
Published specification
Rated power
600 W / 900 W / 1,500 W at 120 V (all three published by Pelonis)
Controls
Two knobs — mechanical thermostat and power level
Noise
No fan — the type's defining property
Portability
Four heavy-duty caster wheels and a front carry handle
Safety
Tip-over safety switch, overheat protection, power indicator light
Warranty
1 year
Heat type
Oil-filled
Maker’s coverage claim
None published — the coverage figure above is ours
Safety listing
No listing mark is published in the listing text; check the rating plate for UL or ETL.
Who it is for
A bedroom or study where silence matters more than speed, and where the budget will not stretch to a De'Longhi.
What it is not for
Anyone who needs heat quickly, anyone who wants to set an actual temperature rather than a knob position, or a room with a child who can reach the controls — there is no child lock.
Each listing was resolved to a model number before anything was written, using the model field on the listing itself rather than the title, which names none.
Specifications come from Pelonis's own product pages for those model numbers, not from retailer aggregations — the two differ, and the aggregations are where the wrong numbers come from.
Coverage, current draw and running cost are computed by us from the wattages Pelonis publishes, and are labeled as ours wherever they sit next to a Pelonis claim.
Listings we could not resolve to a model are excluded, not guessed at. See the last section.
We have not run either heater.
And what we did not do: we have not tested these units, owned them, measured them or run them in a room. Everything above is compiled from published manufacturer specifications and live retail listings, with the electrical load, room coverage and running cost computed by us from the published wattage. The full method.
What we left out, and why
Four other Pelonis oil-filled listings are currently on sale and none of them appears here. Two are marketed as "2025 Upgraded" with an adjustable thermostat and three heating modes; one is a higher-priced listing with a remote, ECO mode and a 24-hour timer. We could not resolve any of them to a model number, which means we could not open a Pelonis page for them and check what the manufacturer actually publishes.
We are not going to describe a heater from its own marketing copy and call that a specification, and we are not going to assume that a listing which sounds like the PSHO07JR4AGB is one. If those listings gain a model number, they will be worth revisiting — several of them may well be good heaters. Today they are unverifiable, which is a different thing from bad.
Questions people actually ask
What is the difference between the Pelonis oil-filled radiators?+
There are two distinct models. The PHO15A2AGW is mechanical — two knobs, no timer, no child lock, but a published 1-year warranty and caster wheels. The PSHO07JR4AGB is digital — a 41–95°F thermostat, ECO, Sleep and Memory modes, a 24-hour timer, a remote and a child lock. Both run at 600, 900 or 1,500 W and produce identical heat.
Why do two Pelonis radiators have the same listing title?+
Because Pelonis lists the same model, PHO15A2AGW, more than once with word-for-word identical feature-string titles and no model number. The listings report the same model code but can carry different prices, so search the model number and compare every result before buying.
How many watts is a Pelonis oil-filled radiator?+
Both models Pelonis documents run at 600 W, 900 W or 1,500 W. At 1,500 W that is 12.5 A and about 27.5 cents an hour at the U.S. average rate; at 600 W it is 5 A and about 11 cents an hour.
Does a Pelonis radiator really heat 255 square feet?+
Pelonis publishes 255 sq ft for the PSHO07JR4AGB. At the standard 10 watts per square foot, 1,500 W covers about 150 sq ft in an average room with an 8-foot ceiling — so the claim is roughly 1.7 times our figure and assumes a well-insulated, draft-free space being topped up rather than heated from cold.
Does ECO mode on a Pelonis heater actually save 40%?+
It saves energy by modulating the wattage down as the room approaches temperature, not by being more efficient — every electric heater converts essentially all its electricity into heat. The 40% figure is a best case, and your real saving depends on the room and how long you run it.
Are Pelonis oil-filled radiators UL or ETL listed?+
Pelonis does not name a UL or ETL mark on either model's product page. It does publish tip-over protection and overheat protection for both, plus a child lock and a V0 flame-retardant housing on the digital model. Check the rating plate on the unit before buying if a lease or insurer requires a listed heater.
Near-instant directional warmth against slow, silent, room-wide steadiness. Same running cost, opposite failure modes.
Written by Scooter M., an enthusiast — not a tester and not a certified anything. Every figure on this page is either published by the manufacturer, taken from a live retail listing, or computed from the published wattage using the formulas we publish. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it, visibly and with a date on it.