A small heater that publishes the two features small heaters usually omit — which is most of the reason to consider it.
By Scooter M. · Published August 31, 2026 · Last reviewed August 31, 2026
How this page is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through the links here, at no extra cost to you. Picks are chosen before links are attached, which is why every roundup names something to skip. Full disclosure.
The Lasko Ellipse CD12950 is a 1,500 W tabletop ceramic heater with wide oscillation, a digital display and thermostat, an AutoECO mode, a remote, a tip-over switch and a child lock. It draws 12.5 A and covers about 150 sq ft at standard sizing assumptions.
Why the feature list matters more than usual here
Small and tabletop heaters are the segment where safety features go missing. They are cheap, they are high-volume, and the two mechanisms that cost money — a tip-over cutoff and a child lock — are frequently the ones dropped. This unit publishes both, and that is the substantive reason it appears in the nursery and small rooms roundups.
The child lock in particular is uncommon at any price and rare at this one. It freezes the control panel, which matters because a tabletop heater's controls sit at exactly the height a standing toddler explores.
The specification, and what we computed from it
LaskoNo photo
Top pick · A desk, a nursery, a small bedroom
Lasko Ellipse CD12950 Tabletop Ceramic Heater
The short answer to “which small heater has a child lock”: a tabletop unit that publishes a tip-over switch, a child lock and an auto-eco mode rather than leaving you to guess.
Rated power
1,500 W
Covers (computed)
150 sq ft
Draw (computed)
12.5 A at 120 V
Cost per hour
27.5¢
Coverage at 10 W/sq ft, average insulation, 8 ft ceiling = 5,118 BTU/h. Cost at 18.34¢/kWh; an eight-hour night at full output is $2.20. Exceeds the 12 A continuous limit of a 15 A circuit — check what else shares the breaker.
What works
Child lock and tip-over switch are both published, not inferred from a photo
Tabletop height gets the outlet cord off the floor, which is where cords get stepped on
AutoECO cycles rather than running flat out, which is the only real way a heater saves money
What does not
Still 1,500 W: on a desk it will heat the room, not just you, and cost accordingly
No published coverage figure
Tabletop placement means it needs 3 feet of clear space on a surface that usually has none
Published specification
Rated power
1,500 W at 120 V
Maker's coverage claim
None published
Controls
Digital display, thermostat, AutoECO mode, remote
Oscillation
Wide oscillation
Safety
Tip-over switch, child lock
Heat type
Ceramic (PTC)
Maker’s coverage claim
None published — the coverage figure above is ours
Safety listing
No listing mark is published in the Amazon listing text; verify the UL or ETL mark on the rating plate.
Who it is for
A small room — a nursery, a home office, a bedroom under about 150 sq ft — where the controls need to be lockable.
What it is not for
An open-plan living room. A tabletop unit oscillating across a desk is not going to move 1,500 W of heat around 400 sq ft.
Computed at 18.34¢/kWh — the U.S. residential average for June 2026 (EIA, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A, released August 26, 2026). Your rate is on your own bill; substitute it and the arithmetic still holds. Figures assume full output for the whole period.
The AutoECO mode is relevant to those figures. An eco mode cycles the element rather than running it continuously, which is the only mechanism by which any heater genuinely reduces consumption — there is no efficiency difference between elements, only differences in how much they run.
What the listing does not publish
Two things, and both are worth knowing. No coverage figure — Lasko does not state a square footage, so use the sizing rule: 1,500 W is about 150 sq ft in an average room. No listing mark in the listing text — check the rating plate on the unit for a UL or ETL mark when it arrives. How to verify one.
We are noting the absence rather than assuming the answer. A well-known brand very probably lists its products; “very probably” is not a specification, and this site does not print one as though it were.
What it is not for
It is a tabletop unit, which means it needs a hard, clear surface with three feet of clearance — and most desks and nightstands do not have that. It is also 1,500 W, so in an open-plan living room it is doing the same job as any other 1,500 W heater but oscillating from a table rather than the floor, which distributes less well. Large-room picks are a better shape for that job.
Questions people actually ask
Does the Lasko Ellipse CD12950 have a child lock?+
Yes. The listing publishes a child lock alongside a tip-over switch, a digital thermostat, an AutoECO mode and wide oscillation, which is why it appears in our nursery roundup.
How big a room does the Lasko Ellipse heat?+
Lasko does not publish a coverage figure. At 1,500 W and the standard 10 W per square foot, that is about 150 sq ft in an average room and about 120 sq ft in a drafty one.
Is the Lasko Ellipse CD12950 UL listed?+
The Amazon listing text does not state a listing mark. Check the rating plate on the unit itself for a UL or ETL mark and a file number, and verify it in the laboratory's online directory.
What does AutoECO mode do?+
It cycles the heater rather than running it continuously, holding a temperature instead of producing full output. Cycling is the only mechanism by which any electric heater reduces consumption, since all of them are about 100% efficient.
150 sq ft needs about 1,500 W — one heater exactly, with no margin. Here is what that means.
Written by Scooter M., an enthusiast — not a tester and not a certified anything. Every figure on this page is either published by the manufacturer, taken from a live retail listing, or computed from the published wattage using the formulas we publish. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it, visibly and with a date on it.